This project is read-only.

Host A Code Editor On A Windows Form

Jul 24, 2010 at 4:33 PM
Edited Jul 24, 2010 at 4:35 PM

Is it possible to host a code editor on a windows form launched by a Managed Menu Extension?  In particular, I'd like to host a C# editor (in place of a multi-line text box control) on the surface of the windows form lauched by clicking on a menu added with MME.  I'm new to Visual Studio Extensibility and would dearly like an example, if possible.

Coordinator
Aug 17, 2010 at 8:41 PM
Well you CAN show a WinForm from a Managed Menu Extension so if you can show the code editor your are talking about ona normal WinForm you can also launch it from a Managed Menu Extension. But I am not sure what you mean. Is the Code Editor you are talking about a Visual Studio Code Editor ? I do not know if you can host that in a windows form. But that is also beyond the current scope of this project.
Aug 17, 2010 at 11:14 PM

Yes, I’d like to host a visual studio editor window in a windows form launched from a managed menu extension.  If you have any knowledge of how to do this or any ideas about how one would go about it, I’d really like to know.

Sent: Tuesday, August 17, 2010 3:42 PM
To: wburchard@insightbb.com
Subject: Re: Host A Code Editor On A Windows Form [mme:221234]

Well you CAN show a WinForm from a Managed Menu Extension so if you can show the code editor your are talking about ona normal WinForm you can also launch it from a Managed Menu Extension. But I am not sure what you mean. Is the Code Editor you are talking about a Visual Studio Code Editor ? I do not know if you can host that in a windows form. But that is also beyond the current scope of this project.

Read the full discussion online.

To add a post to this discussion, reply to this email (mme@discussions.codeplex.com)

To start a new discussion for this project, email mme@discussions.codeplex.com